The best pumpkin soup I’ve ever made

I have my doubts that there’s any food that describes autumn more perfectly than pumpkin soup. Pumpkin soup kinda equals autumn, doesn’t it?

The recipe I’m about to share with you today is not just a classy pumpkin soup but especially scores by the toppings. The combination – although it might sound strange at first (does it?) – is incredible!

Spicy pumpkin soup topped with roasted curry chickpeas, pomegranate and coconut cream

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

A comforting and warming recipe for the colder days.

What would be amazing in this soup is ginger – how could I forget to add ginger? Next time I won’t!

Ingredients

  • 1.2 liters of water
  • 400g potatoes
  • 500g pumpkin
  • 1 carrot
  • 1.5 tbsp veggie stock powder
  • 2 tsp curry powder
  • 1 tsp tumeric
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • chili flakes (optional, highly recommend adding them though!)
  • one can of chickpeas, washed & drained
  • 1 pomegranate
  • 4 tsp coconut cream

Directions

  1. Cook water in your water boiler. Wash the veggies and chop them into small pieces (the smaller they are the faster they will be done).
  2. Add the veggies, veggie stock and spices (leave 1 tsp curry powder for the chickpeas) and cook for 20 minutes.
  3. Put the drained chickpeas in a dry pan with 1 tsp curry powder. Heat them on medium heat until they are crispy.
  4. The veggies should be done by now but to be on the safe side take a fork and jab the veggies. If you can do that easily they are cooked and your soup is almost done!
  5. Now put half of the soup in your blender and mix it until it’s creamy. If you have a hand blender you can also use that one to slightly puree the soup – I like to still have some chunks in it!
  6. Serve the soup whilst it’s hot and top with the roasted chickpeas, pomegranate seeds and 1 tsp of coconut cream. Enjoy!

I used the coconut cream to neutralize some of the spicyness (I’m not handling spicyness so well) and loved the aroma it brought to the soup. The pomegranate seeds contributed to a little crunch and a fresh & fruity flavor whilst the chickpeas were a nice add-on because vegans need their protein ya know.

Okay enough for this blogpost/recipe. I hope you’re having an amazing day, night, whatever time you’re reading this.

I’d be happy if you let me know whether you like this recipe! Leave a comment or tag me on Instagram!  🙂

Lots of love,

Niki (@nutriousniki)

 

Leave a comment